I Has Many Hearts

Not in my chest, of course. In fact, the word heartless has been shouted at me from time-to-time over the years. Never by anyone in the medical profession, fortunately, but my husband does occasionally loudly mention the word whenever I’m simply trying to make a convincing point. Considering the fact that I sit in my desk chair more hours per day than I sleep in my bed at night, and that I like steak and the [cough] occasional beer, I must admit that I do fear someone in the medical profession might one day mention the word heartsick in my presence. But, I digress.I-Has-Many-Hearts

On Saturdays (for example: today), I take the time to run computer maintenance tasks and change my desktop background for the new week. This is not a minor undertaking. My husband picks a background for his laptop and doesn’t change it until … actually, he’s never changed it. He hates change. I mentioned today that we might save some money if we moved again, and he almost had a nervous breakdown on the spot. But, I think I just digressed again.

Anyway, the point I’m trying to make is that I personally can’t stand to look at the same desktop for too long, and my efficiency takes a hit when I do. Over my almost-50-years, I’ve amassed a collection of almost one million stock images, and I choose a new one each week for my background. Unfortunately my tendencies toward ADD and OCD join forces every Saturday and attack me while I innocently try to select a new image.

I can’t just find one I like and stick with it. Oh, no. I’ve got to view every single available choice, after I’ve found one I like (just in case I find one even better), and it can take me as long as half-an-hour before I’m satisfied that I’ve found the very best one. The only thing that saves me from a spending all day searching through my entire million-strong collection is that I’m also OCD about choosing one based on current events.

So, today, I decided – since New Year’s is almost a month behind us – to ditch the clinking champagne glass images I’ve been alternating, and to select a Valentine’s image. About 15-minutes later, which is short for me, I was staring at several red candy hearts against a black background on my desktop. Unfortunately, I don’t care for them very much. I liked the clinking champagne glasses much better. Actually, I prefer Christmas images over anything else; in fact, I have so many Christmas images that the choosing process almost lands me in a mental institution every holiday season, which would be totally unfair because I is not mental whatsoever.

I is a writer.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment